ARY Film awards 2014 winners list

ARY film awards 2014
Celebrities at ARY film awards 2014

The ‘first ever’ Pakistani film awards (ARY Film awards 2014) was held on the grounds of the DHA Golf Club in Karachi on Sunday, 27 April 2014. 

Drawing a huge response of almost 2,000 attendees, the ARY awards celebrated the revival of Pakistani cinema with an exciting display of song, dance – and jibes on the length of skirts in India.

Waar won the technical category of ARY Film awards 2014, with the nominated jury choosing Bilal Lashari as the best director, Aisha Khan the best female actor. The much hyped Mein Houn Shahid Afridi bagged three awards in the technical category, with Humayun Saeed the jury’s first choice in the best male actor category. 

Zinda Bhaag earned five awards, including the jury’s choice Best Film award, while the best female actor award went to Amna Ilyas, who captured the hearts of the audience with a stunning dance performance.

Viewers selected Waar as the best film, Shaan as the best male actor, agreed with the jury to choose Amna Ilyas as the best female actor, and Meesha Shafi  as the best supporting female actor.

ARY Film awards 2014 Winners list

Technical awards

Best background music score — Sahir Ali Bhagga | Zinda Bhaag

Best action — Dr Hasan Waqas Rana | Waar

Best cinematography — Bilal Lashari | Waar

Best choreography — Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best editing — Bilal Lashari | Waar

Best dialogue — Vasay Chaudhry | Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best screenplay — Usman Khalid Butt | Siyaah

Best story — Zinda Bhaag

Best makeup — Nabila | Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best special effects — Waar

Best costume design — Sara Gandapur | Chambaili

 Jury’s choice

Best film — Zinda Bhaag

Best female actor — Amna Ilyas | Zinda Bhaag

Best male actor — Humayun Saeed | Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best director — Bilal Lashari | Waar

Lifetime achievement award — Nadeem Baig

Special award for contributions to Pakistan Cinema — Ali Zafar

Viewer’s choice

Best film — Waar

Best male actor — Shaan | Waar

Best female actor — Aisha Khan | Waar

Best music — Mein Hun Shahid Afridi

Best director — Bilal Lashari | Waar

Best male comic role — Ismail Tara | Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best female debut — Aisha Khan | Waar

Best male debut — Hamza Ali Abbasi | Main Hoon Shahid Afridi

Best performance in negative role — Shamoon Abbasi | Waar

Best female supporting actor — Meesha Shafi | Waar

Best male supporting actor — Hamza Ali Abbasi | Waar

Best female supporting actor — Meesha Shafi | Waar

Best male singer — Rahat Fateh Ali Khan | Zinda Bhaag

Best female singer — Abida Parveen | Ishq Khuda

Best independent film — Josh


Muhammad Irfan

The writer is assistant editor at Lahore Dispatch. He writes on Technology, education and Sports. You can find him on Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *